Travel Aesthethica Tuesdays – Tattoos

Tattoos, to get one or not get one, that is the question! I have come to terms with the fact that I will probably never take the plunge and actually get one, I like my pale skin too much, and the scar on my jaw is permanent enough.

That doesn’t mean I don’t toy with the idea. As a previous post proclaimed, and the Test so far page, I have a small obsession with maps. The other day while browsing a bunch of useless webpages I cam across this image:

So beautiful, but so permanent…

After visiting each country, this woman has it coloured in on her tattoo a la installation. I have always thought I would do something similar in a mural in my house when I eventually settle down but I do love the idea of having it done as a tattoo. If your body is ultimately your only possession that you drag through life with you, and if travel is living (as it is in my mind), this type of tattoo will tell one’s story so succinctly.

Realistically, I will probably never spend the cash to get inked. But here’s dreaming! Some of my favourites follow, also pinterest and google search will bring up many beautiful ones.

Maps

Maybe a bit much?

Big is beautiful?

Let’s play pretend

The world, one step at a time

Planes

Fly me away

Don’t judge my journey

A popular choice as the ultimate symbol of modern travel

“Wanderlust”

simple

What body part is this?

Point me north

Symbols

Excess

Eina

Woah

Must be so expensive!

The one I would get…

Stamp me baby

Follow me on Pinterest if you wanna see more, pinterest.com/ehrard

One thought on “Travel Aesthethica Tuesdays – Tattoos

  1. Pingback: 30 Travel Tattoos You Should Totally Get If You’re A Wanderlust By Heart

Leave a comment