Morning After Monday 03/06

Seoul. What a city. While this weekend was only my third time there, I leave the bustling capital of this country every time wanting more. And what’s even more interesting was the chance to gaze behind the mask of a country that insists homosexuality does not exist…

Set it free hunty

Set it free hunty

The gayness that was this weekend started back in Ulsan on Friday when a friend and I finally went to see Baz Lurhman’s visual spectacular The Great Gatsby. While most people insist it is beautiful with a weak story, I am happy to say that I enjoyed the film, and given the source material, I think few filmmakers would be able to make a better version. ANYWAY, afterwards a friend invited me for a drink at a bar he was at near the cinema.

Walking in to the hidden watering hole, I felt a certain familiar feeling. A feeling I had forgotten and was struggling to place at this moment in time. The scene was set by a smoky room, well dressed men (only), Lady GaGa blaring in the background, tacky pink tassels decorating the ceiling and let’s not forget the awkward eye contact. Taking in the atmosphere my confusion was interrupted when all of a sudden, a gentleman clad in skin tight jeans and an elaborate hairstyle dramatically slammed down his drink and flew up and yelled something at the people next to his table before running off: it hit me – it is a gay bar of course!

Nothing too exciting

Nothing too exciting

Now for those of you who don’t know, homosexuality is not illegal, or punishable in Korea, but due to the collectivism and importance of the traditional family unit in society it is unquestionably a taboo and carries a lot of stigma. This article breaks it down nicely, and so does the video below.

So this was my first time to a gay bar in my city, and in Korea for that matter, after visiting many back home – I might even have been what is known as a Scene Queen (#ILIVE) back in the day. In a city I thought there was no “gay scene” I was happy to find that the queens had a place to go to escape the societal pressures of this patriarchal nation. This feeling of community was reinforced the next day when we went to Seoul.

My reasons for visiting Seoul this weekend where two-fold. Firstly I wanted to buy a DSLR camera and I was told the electronic market at Namdaemun was the best place to do this. Secondly, the fact that the Queer Festival, or Gay Pride, was taking place also intrigued me, just because I wanted to see how a country that brushes the topic aside would celebrate its pink citizens.

The morning was spent combing the food, vintage clothing and electronic markets of KwangJang & NamDaeMoon. While other Korean cities are great, that sensory overload of the exotic orient when the smell of eel hits your nostrils, the texture of silk brushes your skin and the taste of Makgeoli splashes down your throat, can only be found in excess in mother Seoul. So after indulging in a little mass shopping, we got ready to hit the streets for Gay Pride.

KwangJang

KwangJang

Street food for blocks

Street food for blocks

#willem

#willem

Popping tags at the vintage clothes market

Popping tags at the vintage clothing market

NamDaeMoon

NamDaeMoon

My new pet

My new pet

My previous experiences of Pride come from Cape Town and Johannesburg in South Africa. Both events are quite large and both attract protesters and many supporters. Seoul Pride was held in the (liberal) university district of Hong Dae and a small scale festival and concert kicked off proceedings. In the afternoon, a colorful parade of thousands took to the street and marched around a few city blocks, wherein participants gleefully chatted and waved to the onlookers who were either curious, delighted or disgusted. While there were a few naked boys and girls, and I would liken the general atmosphere to a Cape Town or Johannesburg affair, it was certainly much more conservative. Also much to my surprise, there were no protesters I could see.

Now what we were all really waiting for was the after party. And I have heard rumors of “Homohill” in the Itaewon region of Seoul for months now, so I was excited to see what all the fuss was about. I even got extra dressed up, inspired by Korean style. I was disappointing to find that as in most areas of the world, nudity got more attention. I was however thrilled that people were friendly, I recognized a bunch of people from back home and the music was so pop that it was the stuff I have been craving from a club my whole damn life. In fact, the first song played at the parade was my all time favorite Madonna song, Hung Up, and the first song I danced to at the after party was Girl Gone Wild. Homo heaven!

Mah crew for the day

Mah crew for the day

Even aliens lurve them gays

Even aliens lurve them gays

Take to streets my pretties

Take to streets my pretties

A typical Korean predrinks - gin and text anyone?

A typical Korean predrinks – gin and text anyone?

#homohill

#homohill

Who's Taylor Swift anyway?

Who’s Taylor Swift anyway?

This didn't get as much attention as...

This didn’t get as much attention as…

as this. Unfortunately :P

as this. Unfortunately 😛

Okay, so with my curiosities about the local scene satisfied Sunday was devoted to feeding my hangover by discovering the many excellent restaurants in Seoul. A full English breakfast, a craft beer tasting, a few cups of coffee and a Peach Kobler Pie later, I was back on a train to Ulsan giggling with my friends about the memories from the weekend, but also the KTX slogans “Refresh your life with a train” and “Fast, but slow life”. Best. What’s next? Nothing~ but I will say I am already planning my next trip to super Seoul.

a REAL English Breakfast, I LIVE!

a REAL English Breakfast, I LIVE!

Seoul

Seoul

Some craft beer

Some craft beer

...and some PIE!

…and some PIE!

The back cover of my upcoming autobiography #fluitfluitmystorieisuit

The back cover of my upcoming autobiography #fluitfluitmystorieisuit

 

One thought on “Morning After Monday 03/06

  1. Pingback: 5 Personal Highs and 5 Lows from living that ESL life | The Gyptian Test

Leave a comment